The Ten Most Important Things I learned in Tenth Grade

Today concludes my academic career as a sophomore in high school. As of 11:05 today, I am officially a Junior. In honor of that, I thought I would share with you the top ten things I’ve learned this school year. 

  1. Time Flies. It feels like YESTERDAY that I was walking into school every day with a pit in my stomach and shaking throughout my first period class. 180 school days have gone by in the blink of an eye…I cannot even handle it. 
  2. Confidence is Key. I’m lacking in confidence. However, I’ve had a teacher who has constantly, I mean CONSTANTLY encouraged me to be confident in myself. I’ve recently seen what confidence reaps, and I want to have it all!! 
  3. If it is meant to be, it will be. The Lord’s plan is sovereign, and he will have his way. Now, I’ve known this my entire life, but I’ve never really believed it and clung to it as I have this year. I recently had a sweet friend share this with me before some interviews I had. If we let Jesus take the wheel, He will have His way. This became my prayer- I literally clung to it for 5 weeks waiting to hear the results from one of them. It’s a truly comforting truth. He is always so good. 
  4. History is Happenin’. Yes, I just stole this line from Hamilton, but it’s truth!! My history class was by far my favorite this year, it was a really cool experience, and I learned SO much + so much history is literally happening right now, so it was really cool to learn about it as we experienced it this year. 
  5. I learned How to balance/ manage a loaaad of work. This year has definitely been my most homework heavy year, so I’ve learned how to use my planner in an even more efficient way to make sure I’m getting things done on a balanced schedule so that I can try to go to bed around 11 or 12 every night, rather than 8 one night and 3 the next. 
  6. My school really is the best school in America. I’m pretty sure last years morning announcements began with something about being the best high school in America. I’ve seen this year how it’s the truth. From screaming in Adams’ Army (our rockin’ student section) on Friday nights, to watching and adoring the staff each day, to sitting alongside some of Hillcrest’s most devoted students in the classroom, and with having the honor of leading as an Ambassador, I’ve been able to see how it really is the best. I’m so thankful I get to be apart of it all. 
  7. I also realized that I should take risks and trust God more. I was terrrrrified of my APUSH class, I was terrrrified to try out for some things I tried out for, I was terrrrrified to take a bunch of challengeing classes again, I was mildly scared to take my drivers test, and all of that really worked out for me. But, (I studied Esther & did a project on her for my Bible class I took this year…I know, cool, right) God has a plan and he created us for what could possibly be “such a time as this.” So, that’s all the more reason to step out and trust Him!!
  8. Speaking of driving- I learned to drive. It wasn’t until September that I really started driving (I turned 16 in April), so I learned a lot of driving in 6 months. Now, I’m zoomin’ all over the place. 
  9. If we are obedient to the Lord, he gets the glory and we get alll the good. That we don’t deserve. Ever. As His children, our task is to be obedient to Him. If we do that, we get the good stuff- the healing, the joy, the grace, the peace. Alllll of it. I’ve seen that good more this year, than ever. It’s so humbling because WE DO NOT DESERVE IT but He constantly gives it. 
  10. One less-than-best test grade does not define you. Your worth is found in your creator. Knowing who you are in Him, and being secure in that is most important. One bad test is one grain of sand in the beach of your life. It will be okay. 

With all of that being said, I’m thankful for new friendships, changes, sweet teachers, an incredible school, and a faithful God. It’s been a SWEEEEEET one + I’m so excited for the next two years. Go Pats always. God is good. 

2 thoughts on “The Ten Most Important Things I learned in Tenth Grade

    1. Awe! Mrs. Wilkerson, thank you! I have really enjoyed being in your class this year- I cannot thank you all enough for all that you do! Thank you, thank you!!! It’s been the most fun!

      But, I’m not taking Spanish 2. At least not this year…I’ll give you some time to try and change my mind before 12th grade! 😉

      Like

Leave a Reply

